AFPC Opioid Working Group

AFPC established an Opioid Working Group to action our commitments in the Joint Statement of Action to Address the Opioid Crisis in Canada. At the November 2016 national summit, over 30 partners signed action-oriented commitments to improve prevention, treatment and harm reduction associated with problematic opioid use. AFPC committed to conduct an environmental scan and to develop recommendations and competencies for pharmacists in pain, opioids, and opioid overdose and opioid use disorder. 

The AFPC Opioid Working Group is chaired by Dr. Beth Sproule and includes representatives from each of the 10 Faculties of Pharmacy in Canada. The following reports were developed and approved by the AFPC Council of Faculties (June 2018):

Our Faculties